TriMet Board elects first woman Board President in agency’s 51-year history


Dr. Linda Simmons to lead seven-member Board that selects TriMet GM, sets agency policy, implements legislation for transit operations and more

For the first time in TriMet’s 51-year history, a woman will lead our Board of Directors. Board members have elected Dr. Linda Simmons to serve as Board President, effective July 1, 2021. She takes over the role from current TriMet Board President Bruce Warner, when his term ends after June 2021. Warner has been at the helm for the past nine years and has served on the Board since 2012, at the pleasure of Oregon’s governors.

Dr. Linda Simmons
TriMet Board Director Dr. Linda Simmons

Director Simmons was appointed by Gov. Kate Brown to the Board in December 2016, representing District 3, which covers Southwest Portland, Tualatin, Tigard and Beaverton. She had been serving as the Board’s Secretary and Treasurer.

Dr. Simmons is an experienced educator, with wide-ranging administrative and executive experience spanning almost four decades. She has received national recognition as a leader in shaping public policy to enhance student access to post-secondary education. Dr. Simmons has been recognized as an innovative leader and coalition builder, banding together the diverse needs of civic, education, business and government groups.

Joining Dr. Simmons in Board leadership roles will be Director Lori Irish Bauman, who will remain in her current position as Board Vice President, and Director Ozzie Gonzalez, who will take over the Board Secretary and Treasurer position. The changes to the TriMet Board of Directors were announced in a resolution approved by the full Board during its May 2021 meeting, to go into effect July 1, 2021. New Board liaison assignments for several TriMet committees were also announced:

  • Accountability Committee: Thomas Kim
  • ATU/TriMet Pension Trust Fund: Keith Edwards
  • Crash Advisory Committee: Dr. LaVerne Lewis
  • Committee on Accesssible Transportation (CAT): Keith Edwards
  • Finance & Audit Committee: Lori Irish Bauman (Chair), Ozzie Gonzalez and Dr. Linda Simmons
  • Metropolitan Police Advisory Committee (MPAC): Thomas Kim
  • Reimagine Public Safety Advisory Committee: Dr. LaVerne Lewis
  • Transit Equity Advisory Committee (TEAC): Kathy Wai

About the TriMet Board of Directors

The seven-member TriMet Board is appointed by the governor and sets policy for the agency as well as appoints the general manager, implements legislation pertaining to transit operations and reviews and approves certain contracts. Board members are volunteers and serve up to two four-year terms or longer if at the pleasure of the Governor. For additional information about the TriMet board, visit